Check out the winner of the 2022 Poetry Contest – “Blue Hour” by May Chen

蓝小时 (Blue Hour) by May Chen

i.

Ma told me i was living the american dream
football games every weekend
dances every month
what more could 
someone ask for?
The american dream
she said
hungry but never starving
we feast.

ii.

take me back to when
  we would sit by your bed
other kids had books
we had your experiences
you called my name
but i wasn’t there
i was in the fields of 湖南 China
running through the rocky roads
Yiruma kiss the rain played in the back
as i slept.

iii.

my anxiety lives
among my fingers
my nails
my hair
my skin
flesh and bones
bare, bear
a beast lives within 
my anxiety eats me. 

iv.

蓝色小时
the blue hour
a period of twilight
where the sky is overcome with an indigo hue
indigo means devotion
I am devoted to this life
The sound dips
a pause in the music
a flaw of the musician
a whisper of hope in the silence
i’ll be okay

Leave a comment